The Fifteenth through Eighteenth Degrees comprise the Chapter of Rose Croix. It commences with the trials of those who have acquired Knowledge, and who wish to climb to yet higher truths. The Chapter of Rose Croix presents Faith, Hope and Charity as sure guides to our actions, and as the safest paths through adversity. We are instructed to follow for them in their highest form of human expression: as Compassion and the Law of Love.

Though only four, the degrees of the Rose Croix Chapter contain teachings that are very complex. The degrees are at once religious, historical, moral and philosophical. The intellectual challenges presented in these degrees are numerous, and at times overwhelming and can take years to master.

Degree Description

15th Degree

"Knight of the East, of the Sword, or of the Eagle"

Duties: Rebuild the Masonic Temple of Liberty, Equality and Fraternity in the souls of Men and of Nations

There are two major lessons in this degree. First, to have fidelity to trust, honor and duty. Secondly, to maintain perserverance and constancy under difficulties and discouragements. Fidelity to obligations and perseverance of purpose under difficulties and discouragement are taught in this degree.

16th Degree

"Prince of Jerusalem"

Duties: To Direct and Aid those who Labor to Build the Symbolic Temple. Judge Equitably and Fairly. Provide Aid of Whatever Kind to Fellow Princes of Jerusalem. Keep Faith in the Justice and Beneficence of God. Press Forwarrd with Hope for the Persecuted and Oppressed

The lesson of this degree is that we should build Temples of the Living God in our hearts by following Masonic Truth - justice, equity, morality, wisdom, labor, fidelity, brotherhood - to achieve immortality. We learn "heroism of patience, the nobility of self-sacrifice" and compassionate judgment, along with charity, fidelity and brotherhood. 

17th Degree

"Knight of the East and West"

Duties: To Work, to Reflect and to Pray. To Hope, to Trust and to Believe. To Teach the Truths that are Hidden in Allegories and Concealed by the Symbols of Freemasonry

This degree teaches that an army of martyrs have offered up their lives to prove their faith or to benefit mankind. The wisdom of this degree is that loyalty to God is man's primary allegiance and the temporal governments not founded upon God and His righteousness will inevitably fall. 

18th Degree

"Knight of the Rose Croix"

Duties: Practice Virtue that it may Produce Fruits. Labor to Eliminate Vice, and Purify Humanity. Be Tolerant of the Faith and Creed of Others

There are three great lessons of this degree. First, that we should have faith in God, mankind and ourselves. Secondly, that we should hope in the victory over evil, the advancement of humanity, and a hereafter. Thirdly, that charity is relieving the wants and tolerating the errors and faults of others. This degree emphasizes that life and its strength come from God. The rose signifies the dawn and the cross is a sacred symbol of antiquity in many cultures. One is also taught to be tolerant of others errors and their faults.

Search the Site

Follow Us

Join our Mailing List

Your name is required and will be checked with membership roles.